Styled for a second-look!!!

This post is my expression of style for the ‘A Style Of My Own’ blogger contest by Women’s Web and Trishla emart


Style

A chunky bangle/bracelet with a plain, old ratty t-shirt and jeans!

Green hip-hop shoes with khaki shorts!

A red-lipped smile with a mellow-colored dress!

This is my style!

I don’t dress to impress nor do I dress to stand-out. I dress to garner a second-look from people around me. Because I believe, just like first impressions, first look isn’t  enough to start a conversation/relationship out of thin air. I believe, a second look creates more interest and a kind of curiosity in the other person to know you better.

I was never a fashion-oriented person,  being too busy working 12-14 hours a day, I’d just throw  on something formal and rush out the door.  But over the last year, as I moved cities, gave-up full-time work and the bureaucratic mad-dash to a finish line (that’s nowhere in sight) I found the time to find myself and discover my likes/dislikes. I am still exploring this side of me and my self-expression through my clothes. But, on this exploration journey I don’t want to overhaul my wardrobe every few months and bankrupt my husband. And so I try some of these short-cuts to feel new and save some bucks:

  • While scouring a sale I found this very cute but very short skirt which was dirt cheap.  I knew I would never wear something so short so I turned it into a tube top. Now I team it up with a shrug/jacket/shawl depending on the place/occasion.
  • Whenever I get tired of my old bracelets and bangles, I wrap around a chain on my wrist, gives me a sense of novelty and I like small pendants dangling from my wrist, gives me the feeling of wearing a charm bracelet 🙂
  • On the other hand, whenever I am tired of an old bangle (bracelets wont work,  but bangles will be great) but don’t wanna let it go, I string it in a thick thread or chain and wear it around my neck. All you need is a colorful  thread and bangle and it brightens up a plain dress or t-shirt.
  • Am not a big fan of sweaters but am always freezing in malls and theaters. So my style-fix for such situations is wrapping a scarf on one of my wrists. This keeps me warm when I’m strolling and in the theater I untie the scarf and cover up my shoulders.

If you have any such style short-cuts please do share with me. I’m sure my husband will be very glad to see me try such short-cuts as he will be saved a trip to the mall every time I wanna feel new and renewed  🙂

Leave a Reply

