Cheers to greener pastures!!!

green grass

There is something to be said about living with a careless abandon. During one of our everything-under-the-sky chats, my colleague mentioned living like a nomad and that one comment brought an onslaught of memories from my days of living like a nomad.

My so-called nomadic exploits began with my shift to Mumbai for my graduation. Ofcourse I wasn’t a nomad in the correct sense of the word but more like a carefree girl with little responsibilities and no home cooked food. 🙂

Greater part of my graduation days were spent in living in dump in a government hostel and it was more Dharavi-style than nomadic. However, rat infestations and cat dumps aside, Mumbai was my first venture out of my safety cocoon at home. The first year was filled with my baby-steps into this “careless abandon”. The responsible nerd in me was slowly being replaced by a girly, gossipy, college girl who was loving the hustle and bustle of a big city. Over the 3 years, as I shifted homes, hostels, and friends, I realized I am not the trinket collecting types. I collected memories, both good and bad. I collected lots of life lessons by stumbling head-first into troubles and also by leading people out of some.

The second-phase of my nomadic lifestyle came when I joined work after my MBA. I was once again back in Mumbai and this time, (supposedly) more wise. Now I had my own money to splurge and splurge I did, big time – dinner parties, movies, concerts, plays, shopping sprees and some memorable trips with friends.

My time in Mumbai meant never having to worry about cooking or cleaning the house or not having to worry about anyone/anything. Given that I met my husband during my MBA and that we were slated to tie the knot soon, my careless abandon phase came to an end and I moved on to greener pastures :).

My time in Mumbai probably seemed very appealing and I appreciated that phase of my life because that time had an expiration date. If it would have been my state of affairs till eternity then I would have probably spent my life pining for the married-status. You see, grass is always greener on the other side.

Having crossed over to the greener side, I sometimes look over at the other side and wonder was that greener or is this greener? I couldn’t answer that question with a 100% certainty until today. I think it is not the grass that changes color, it is me who is coloring the grass greener with my exploits and intentions.  And no matter which side I am on, if I choose, I can surely color it greener right where I am standing.

Thanks VK for helping me realize this :).

Leave a Reply

